Posted by: Tyler Green | 05/17/2010

Searching for an Electronic Identity

You may have noticed the URL to this blog is http://tgreen8091.wordpress.com.  On the right column, you can see that the usernames for my Flickr, Twitter, and Digg accounts are also tgreen8091.  With a very small number exceptions, my web presence is held under the name tgreen8091.

I have nothing wrong with this username, but I would definitely prefer to have tyler.green or tylergreen at the majority of these websites.  A large number of my peers use user names in this format, so much so that I have repeatedly tried to make a Google Account under this name, all with the same negative response of ‘That user name is not available.’

Until I go to try to create usernames, I don’t think that Tyler Green is a very common name.  Once I do, everybody online must have that name.  My only explanation is that with a first and last name that both only have 5 letters, each specific combination of letters is more likely than for a longer name.  Thus, my only positive thought that I continue to cling on to is based on the idea of permutations, an Algebra II concept most students think has no practical purpose outside of being an automatic point-docker on exams.

I may have been successful in getting my desired username if I had found my obsession with the extra professional and conservative first.last format a few years earlier, but by the latter part of the first decade of the 21st century, all the Tyler Green’s had swiped them up.  At around age 9, I thought tgreen8091 was the coolest name ever, and now I have to remind myself of that frequently to stay satisfied.

Okay, so its really not that bad and I am very content to continue to exist as tgreen8091, but please briefly consider this to be an online buying and selling forum where I am putting forth this advertisement:

If there is any Tyler Green out there who wants to sell me his usernames for all the websites I use, please get in touch.  Appropriate rewards will be discussed at that time.

Leave a Reply

Categories

