Posted by: Tyler Green | 05/16/2010

My Cinematography Beginnings

I had been wanting to add subtitles to my final video project from my 2008 French class for a long time now.  I still knew the meaning of the plot, but it was always impossible to share unless people wanted to watch corny ninja fight scenes with no comprehension of the dialog.  I finally sat down and pushed through the subtitles this weekend and it took a lot less time than I expected, or I probably wouldn’t have waited almost two years to do it.  Here is the final subtitled version of “Le Voyage de la Mort”.

This next video speaks for itself.

Here is a very simple video that demonstrates the effectiveness of a good title.  Just like my success in getting hits on my ‘FPGA’ posts, the title ‘Lafayette Band 2008’ drew a large audience.  It is interesting to note that more than half of those hits came during the week immediately before and after the 2008 KMEA State Marching Band Championships.  Being a championship contender, and eventually the winner, the searches regarding the band piled in.  I ended up with over 4,000 views on this 35 second presentation that is mostly black title screens.  I was just being slightly creative with some pictures and a neat cadence on a day off school, and electronic popularity ensued.

Unfortunately, the title to this post is deceiving.  Something that has beginnings normally continues.  Aside from the slideshows I have put together in the past month and posted, these three videos represent the extent of my cinematography career.  I hope you enjoy my vast video portfolio.

Leave a Reply

Categories

