Posted by: Tyler Green | 05/15/2010

New York in a New Light

I returned from a fantastic trip to New York City wanting to display some of my photos in a new form and I think I came up with some pretty successful results.

It had been several years since I had actually pieced together some of the panoramic shots, so I Googled some new software and ended up downloading Microsoft Research Image Composite Editor.  It was a quick download and install, but proved to be a very powerful program.  All I had to do was drag each set of images to be stitched into the window and it would process them into a single image.  It even output the number of degrees the camera had rotated between the series of shots!  (I think the Lower Manhattan Image was something like a 120 degree rotation.)

These two panoramas were taken from the Observation Deck on the 86th floor of the Empire State Building.  Because New York’s current tallest building stands fairly isolated of other skyscrapers, the north and south sides had great views for the two largest parts of the borough.  The image of Lower Manhattan is a stitch of three composite images and the Upper Manhattan shot contains four.

Lower Manhattan

Upper Manhattan

The next day’s visit to the Statue of Liberty had everything but perfect lighting, but when I was looking through my photos afterward, I realized I had taken a shot from about every angle possible.  This was almost the opposite of the panoramas above.  In those, I was stationary and took shots of varying angles.  In the video below, my camera’s focus was stationary on the statue, but my angle changed and the boat proceeded to dock on Liberty Island.  I thought the best way to display these would be in a simple slide show, and here is the result of 16 consecutive images around the Statue of Liberty.  It was pieced together using the Movie Maker feature of Google Picasa.

Both of the panoramas and video compilation are of average aesthetic quality, but using the new software to display New York City in a New Light over my traditional still images was a success.  I will continue to intertwine these new mediums with my already established 4:3 image repertoire to create a unique display of my future experiences.

Responses

  1. You should also try uploading your panoramas from ICE to Photosynth (just click the Publish button in the bottom right of ICE). I think that this is a great way to explore big panoramas. For example see some other images of NYC here:

    http://photosynth.net/view.aspx?cid=83a516c5-eec0-478a-af02-86a14b4658b8

    http://photosynth.net/view.aspx?cid=6c8f0e09-f974-407d-9853-350fabb98254

  2. I had seen that button, just hadn’t clicked it yet. I will definitely try that out. Thanks for the suggestion!


Leave a Reply

Categories

